Baby steps

Ya know, life has a funny way of giving us what we need….which is not always what we want.

Earlier this winter I was struggling with running.  Those of you who followed along with my 50 day challenge probably remember I was having mixed emotions with running, and scaled back on the cardio and started doing cross fit.  Well then in the last week of March I fell flat on my butt when taking the dog out on the ice.  Thankyouvermuch Erie for snowing like crazy in March.  Sheesh.

Anyway, after I fell I was struggling.  Everything hurt.  For a week after I fell I tried to workout like normal…everything from crosfit, to spinning, to running.  Yeah, all the things someone with a back injury shouldn’t do.  Eventually I gave up and went to the doctor and physical therapist who said I had sprained my back.  So I spent a few days laying on the couch trying not to cry and catching up on Grey’s Anatomy.  Eventually I progressed to hot yoga, then walking, then the elliptical…and finally RUNNING.

I remember thinking how funny it was that in the middle of March the last thing I wanted to do was go for a long run.  And a few weeks later when I couldn’t, that seemed like the only thing that would make me happy.  Yeah, like I said.  Damn life.

So maybe I needed just a liiiiiitle extra time off from running?  Regardless, thats what I got.  And I missed it.  And Im super happy to be back.  Ive missed looking down and seeing these on the pavement 🙂

IMG_0732

So today I decided to try my longest run so far:  3 miles.  Ok, it was a run/walk.  And really it was more of a shuffle/walk…I don’t really feel like Im truly running yet.  But I was OH SO thankful to be able to just throw on my running shoes and go outside and enjoy the morning.

IMG_0731

So what does the future hold for me and running?  To be honest, I have no idea.  Maybe Ill  stick to local 5 and 10ks.  Maybe Ill train for a half marathon.  Maybe Ill decide I never want to run more than three miles and go back to cross fit.  All I do know is this injury has taught me what a blessing my body is and how I should treasure the ability to MOVE each day, regardless of the activity.  Right now Im just happy to be back in my running shoes 🙂

One thought on “Baby steps

  1. Pingback: Once again a runner | My Fuel and Fitness Diaries

Leave a Reply

