Chocolate strawberry crunch yogurt

IMG_0753

Sounds delicious, right?  Well this was my breakfast the other morning, and it was pretty close to eating desert for breakfast.

So whats in the bowl?  Well I took some nonfat, plain greek yogurt and stirred in a spoonful of chocolate protein powder for some sweetness.  Then I chopped up a bunch of strawberries, a few almonds, and about 1/4 of a dark chocolate Zone bar to put on top.  I intended on sprinkling chia seeds on top as well, but I was so excited to dive into this creation that I forgot.  Oh well, this bowl will surely make another appearance and next time I will remember.

Oh, and this meal is twice as good if you are shoving strawberries in your mouth while you cut more up to put on the yogurt.  Im kinda obsessed with strawberries right now…

Now, the past few posts have been rather reflective in nature.  Lets just say the whole back injury thing gave me too much time to think.  I have a few more recent thoughts to share, but this is just a little life catch-up….in case anyone cares 🙂

Im home in VA for a bit visiting friends and family.  And loving every minute.  Normally Im home over holidays, and spend most of the time running all over the place trying to see my own family, and fit in my friends when they aren’t tied up with their own holiday obligations.  I swear I often return to PA totally exhausted.  But this time Im home for about 3 weeks, although a few of those days will be spent in Indianapolis for a conference.  So I get to relax, see my family, and just enjoy the things I miss about living in the Shenandoah Valley.  And Molly is taking full advantage!

IMG_0754

In some other good news, Im pretty much 100% back to working out like I want.  I was a little sore in my back/glutes from a workout over the weekend, so I realized I still need to be a liiiiitle bit careful.  But for the most part I can workout without worry.  Man Ive missed this.

So, I thought I would share my workout from yesterday.  I am LOVING circuit training right now!

  • 15 minutes cardio – then do the following circuit twice through
  • Squat to shoulder press – 12x
  • Bent over row – 15x each side
  • Burpees – 20
  • One-leg deadliest – 10x each leg
  • Kettlebell swings – 20x
  • Hip bridge with leg extensions (bridge up and extend each leg, one at a time) – 10x each leg
  • Plank row with rotation (see link, but I didnt do the pushup) – 10x each side
  • Plank jumps with a jack – 20x
  • Forearm plank, one-arm plank right side, one-arm plank left side – 30 seconds each
  • Finish with 15 minutes of cardio

This was actually harder than I thought it was going to be!  By the time I got to the second round the burpees and plank jumps were KILLLLLLLING me.  I was stopping to catch my breath with about 5 burpees to go, and another gym member started talking to me (Im working at the place I used to work, so some of the members who are still there remember me and want to say HI).  Normally I am very short with people and don’t like to be bothered during my workouts.  But I stopped and chatted for a bout 5 minutes because 1) This was one of the members I have known for a long time and wanted to chat with him and 2) I was about to die from burpees and was secretly thankful for a break!  But the workout was super fun….expect to see lots more like this on the blog!

Hope everyone had an equally great start to the week!

One thought on “Chocolate strawberry crunch yogurt

Leave a Reply

