Motivation monday: One step at a time

bfee18a9233742470d66243cbd4bd2c1

(source)

It really is simple.  Just run.

For me, this has been the one thing I could hold on to through the past few years.  I moved away from my family and friends in Virginia, started (and finished!) a doctoral program in Pittsburgh, and then moved to Erie to take a job as an assistant professor.  Stress much?  Ummm yeah, lets just say that this was my mantra over the past few years….

tumblr_m68pjxolTg1rvoa7vo1_500

Most people who know me for any length of time know how important this is to me.  No matter how busy I was at work, my fellow grad students and co-workers have always known when to say to me “its OK Annie…just go run.  You need to.”  They knew I wouldn’t be any help until after I laced up my sneakers and had at least 30 minutes to myself, with nothing but my iPod and the road.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not a mileage junkie.  I typically only run 3 times per week.  But those three times per week keep me sane!

And, as I have complained about in the past, those three times per week were not really happening this winter.  Stupid f’ing injuries.

But, I feel like things are slooooowly starting to fall back into place, one step at a time (literally).  This weekend I did a small 5k which was the first race I have done since new years day.  I had no idea what to expect.  I told myself I was just going to take it at a moderate pace and see how I felt.

Haha…I should have known myself better than that!  Of course I ran somewhat conservative the first mile.  And then I played my favorite game:  try to pass as many women in front of me as I can!  Im happy to report that I caught a few, and was *only* about 2 minutes off of my PR.  For those of you who speak runner, you know that is a lot.  But considering my current training status, Im actually pretty happy with that.  And, the competition was pretty slim at the race, so I got second in my age group.  It at least provided a confidence boost if nothing else.

IMG_0834

So basically, Im finally starting to feel like myself.  Not sure what my future holds with running, but Im hoping that this next year my running shoes and I can have a better relationship!

See you at the finish line 🙂

Leave a Reply

